NERIO-HEADER8.jpg

MY LW-KITE FOR FOIL & TWINTIP

WEIGHT & SIZES

NERIO_Size-13.jpg
NERIO_Size-15.jpg

LIGHT - EFFICIENT - AGILE

Nerio-Kite-Only_1.jpeg

Light

The fact that a light kite always flies better than a heavy kite is basically nothing new and is widely known. For a long time not much attention was paid to this, because the kites were unnecessarily overdesigned in order to optimize for freestyle and for the best possible high-quality look. My new kite Nerio does NOT follow this goal either. My kite covers its range of use perfectly and that is mainly in light winds with the twin tip or with the hydrofoil. First and foremost the kite must be particularly light. For use on the twin tip and jumps in the lower wind range it still has to be stable. Why the Nerio’s weight is still so little I explain below.

Efficient

The special efficiency of the Nerio is the high performance for the use on the hydrofoil as well as twintip and the particularly large wind range. I don't want to keep going back to shore and pumping up kites just because the wind has just picked up or dropped. On the foil you are quickly overpowered and with the twin tip you also appreciate a kite with large depower and sovereign flight characteristics. On the other hand the lowest wind range requires a powerful kite to generate the necessary pull on the bar so that the jumps don't become hops. But not only the pure wind range is important to me. My kite must also have a linear power build-up and be totally easy to relaunch even in very low wind. I would also like to kite such a high aspect ratio kite like the Nerio with the same 52cm bar as the Maverick II.

Nerio-TT_2.jpeg

Agile

Even a kite that already has a lot of power in the lower wind range shouldn't be sluggish. For me it was very important that a high aspect ratio kite like this is extremely agile, but doesn't flap and doesn't move too much on its own. I do not want to be limited by the kite at my riding style which could happen with a lame and sluggish kite. From my point of view an agile kite is also a clear advantage when hydrofoiling, because I can react so much faster, because when foiling you often have very little tension on the lines and a sluggish kite is only a hindrance. The shape, construction and bridle system of the Nerio have therefore been developed with this in mind right from the very first prototype.

FEATURES

"The primary goal when developing the Nerio was to be able to kite with a tube kite as early as possible and not have the feeling of riding a big kite. The 13m Nerio has the power of a conventional 16m kite"

Shape

I have designed the Nerio specifically for use with hydrofoils and twintips in the lower wind range. You can see this from its high aspect ratio shape and the sweep. This high aspect ratio allows for high planing and upwind performance. Thanks to a powerful profile and a slim front tube the kite is stable at the edge of the wind window even in very little wind. The individual details such as the profile, the twist and the skin tension only create a good kite when the entire shape is matching each other.

Nerio-Kite-Only_8.jpeg

Profile

A kite that is agile, powerful and has an easy handling even in strong wind at the same time must have a perfect working profile. Since the range of use of the Nerio's is clearly defined, just like the Maverick II, the only option for me was a profile where the air flow immediately is clean after depowering the kite. This creates a constant pull on the bar and not the uncomfortable ON / OFF performance which is for me much too jerky on many kites.

The Nerio has a profile specially optimized for the lower wind range for a good groundpull and still offers an easy handling in the upper wind range. Adjusting the profile of the Nerio was therefore quite complex. I have benefited from the experience of the Maverick I & II kites as well as from many years of working as a kite designer.

Wingtips

Every kite needs a stabilizer at the wingtips. In this way it stabilizes itself and in this position it is decisively fixed how the kite flies in very tight turns and at the very edge of the wind window. Unfortunately performance and handling are too often given away here. In the prototype phase of the Nerio I therefore tried out wingtips with straight and rounded outlines very intensively. The version that is now finally used in the serial kites is a good mix of performance, bar feel and easy relaunch behavior. You always know where the kite is in the wind window without looking. A very important aspect for use on the hydrofoil especially in the lowest wind range.

Nerio-Wingtip_1.jpeg

Struts 1plus2

My kites should always be light, even very light. No-Strutter are very light, but mostly have a small wind range. They work very well low down, but as soon as the wind picks up you have to change kites because the handling then becomes disastrous. Single-Strutter can do that better, but I am still missing the support of the profile at the wingtip when forcing the kite into very tight turns. On the other hand, developing a classic three-strutter would have taken me away from the goal of developing a very light kite with the Nerio. That's why I've modified the two struts near the wingtip to micro-struts with extremely thin diameters and call this 1 plus 2. This design is almost as light as a single-strutter, but the kite turns way better and in the high end wind range it has more control, because the profile is better stabilized. The concept works just as effectively on the Nerio as it does on the Maverick.

Twist

The flight of birds has always fascinated me especially their agility. They achieve this by twisting their wings completely. No bird has rigid wings like an airplane. Every aircraft designer would dream of realizing a stable and simple torsion wing instead of being limited only on flaps at the end of the wing. A kite with a stiff fronttube is almost similar to a rigid wing. Such a kite cannot really be influenced by the kiter in its flight and turning performance as a pull at the bar usually affects only at the wingtip. The Nerio, on the other hand, can twist as a whole because it has a fairly thin leading edge. It therefore turns much tighter and it is even more important that the air flow is permanently clean to the kite due to the twisting of the surface. You notice this immediately because the feeling at the bar remains constant even with really tight turns. For me this is an indispensable quality on the foil.

Bridle

In order to stabilize the Nerio's quite thin front tube a very well working bridle is necessary.. I have only used a pulley in one position exactly where the bridle has to move to achieve a very efficient depower effect and to keep the depower throw on the bar as short as possible. If you push the bar completely away from your body the kite is completely without power which always gives me a very safe feeling. The remaining points are fixed to create a very direct bar feeling and to enable the relaunch even at very low winds. Since the Nerio has a high aspect ratio shape I added an additional point so that the leading edge is also well stabilized in the upper wind range. My bridle is assembled with lightweight flying lines rather than thick and heavy bridle lines. This creates less air resistance and also contributes to the low weight of the kite.

Construction

The requirement to build a light kite for the use on the foil, which at the same time is stable enough for the use on the twin tip, requires a rethinking of the construction. However for me it was clear from the beginning that I will not use rocket technology with hocus-pocus materials where the kiter as a customer should perform the final test. That's why I use the extremely robust Ripstop from Contender on my kite which has excellent stretch and tear resistance. It's light enough but really stable. From the same company comes the Dacron for the leading edge and the struts. Both materials are woven and finished in Germany and Switzerland. A one-pump-system and a large IN/ OUT-valve are standard today. But why is the Nerio kite so light?

Nerio-Kite-Only_9.jpeg

Kite-Bag

A light kite needs a light kite bag. That's why I chose the same bag for the Nerio as for the Maverick. With only 135 gr this bag is really light and fits well for traveling. It is simple, functional and nevertheless solid. No needless details and just the focus on the essentials. A bag how I have always wanted to have. The two side lines close the opening at the top of the bag and also serve as a shoulder strap. Because the Nerio kite and the bag are so light no padding is needed here.

DNA

"There are many kites that have a good groundpull, but my new kite in particular has to be very good in the turns too so that I can have a lot of fun on the hydrofoil and the twin tip."

Hydrofoil

To have lots of fun on the Hydrofoil my kite not only has to be lightweight, good to relaunch and have a good performance, but also covers a really large wind range. In addition to that I expect a very predictable bar feeling. If you ride a jibe with the hydrofoil towards the kite there is usually only very little tension on the flying lines due to the little existing drag of the foil. Then you realize very quickly how well a kite is designed for this range of use. The Nerio enables me to venture into wind ranges that were otherwise only reserved for foil kites (ram air kites). Due to its high aspect ratio it has an outstanding upwind performance which is a lot of fun with the foil.

Twintip

Twintip cruising in the lower wind range is much more fun to me with the very light and agile Nerio than with the big kites of previous years. With my 77kg I can go out with a 145x46cm twintip in 7-8 knots of wind with the 13 Nerio. With so little wind my LW kite has to provide good lift for jumps on the twin tip, be able to be quickly steered backwards and not generate too much drag so that I can generate the maximum pull upwards. Unfortunately many kites that have a good lift are flying far too deep in the wind window and therefore have deficits when taking off. The high flight speed of the Nerio generates the desired lift very early on. When it comes to bar feeling I like it direct, but without a lot of effort. It has to feel light and playful so that I can fully concentrate on the take-off. I don't want to have to constantly look up at the kite to make sure where it's going or already has a backstall. I appreciate this direct bar feeling with the Nerio especially in very gusty conditions.

Relaunch

A kite that has a bad relaunch is definitely a fun killer on the foil and on days with particularly little wind you are happy if even a small breeze is enough to get the kite back into the sky. The Nerio starts directly and deep in the wind window without having to move annoyingly long to the edge of the wind window. The video on the left was recorded in about 6 - 7 kn wind. You can see the relaunch technique well. The narrow wingtips and the front tube which is somewhat thicker in this area as well as the outer struts enable the kite to be released from the water quickly and easily. All you have to do is to pull a steering line. The special bridle supports this with the fixed points and together with the wingtips it creates enough lift so that the kite turns as you wish. The reverse launch by pulling on both steering lines also works with the Nerio.

MOMENTS

Why buy a Nerio kite?

NERIO-prices.png

All prices include VAT plus shipping costs.

In accordance with the distance selling regulation for cross-border deliveries of goods to private individuals that will apply in the EU from July 1st, 2021the VAT rate of the destination country is calculated.

NERIO-HEADER8.jpg

MEIN LW-KITE FÜR FOIL & TWINTIP

GEWICHT & GRÖßEN

NERIO_Size-13.jpg
NERIO_Size-15.jpg

LEICHT - EFFIZIENT - AGIL

Nerio-Kite-Only_1.jpeg

Leicht

Dass ein leichter Kite immer schöner fliegt, als ein schwerer Kite, ist im Prinzip nichts Neues und weitgehend bekannt. Lange Zeit wurde dem aber nicht wirklich viel Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt, denn die Kites wurden stattdessen in der Verarbeitung mehr für Freestyle und für eine möglichst hochwertige Optik unnötig overdesigned. Auch mein neuer Kite Nerio folgt diesem Ziel NICHT. Mein Kite deckt seinen Einsatzbereich perfekt ab und der ist hauptsächlich bei Leichtwind mit dem Twintip, oder mit dem Hydrofoil. Dazu muss der Kite in erster Linie aber ganz besonders leicht sein. Für den Einsatz auf dem Twintip und Sprünge schon im unteren Windbereich hingegen muss er trotzdem stabil sein. Wieso der Nerio trotzdem nur so wenig wiegt, erkläre ich nachfolgend.

Effizient

Die besondere Effizienz des Nerio ist die hohe Leistung für den Einsatz auf dem Hydrofoil, sowie Twintip und der besonders große Windbereich. Ich möchte nicht ständig ans Ufer zurück und Kites aufpumpen, nur weil der Wind gerade zugenommen, oder nachgelassen hat. Auf dem Foil ist man schnell überpowert und mit dem Twintip weiß man ebenfalls einen Kite mit großer Depower und souveränem Flugverhalten zu schätzen. Der unterste Windbereich verlangt dagegen einen kraftvollen Kite, um den notwendigen Zug an der Bar zu erzeugen, damit die Sprünge keine Hopser werden. Aber nicht nur der reine Windbereich ist mir wichtig. Mein Kite muss auch einen linearen Druckaufbau haben und total easy relaunchen, selbst bei sehr wenig Wind. Auch so einen hoch gestreckten Kite wie den Nerio möchte ich mit der gleichen 52cm Bar kiten, wie den Maverick II.

Nerio-TT_2.jpeg

Agil

Auch ein Kite der viel Power schon im unteren Windbereich hat, darf nicht träge sein. Für mich war es daher auch bei so einem gestreckten Kite sehr wichtig, dass er extrem agil ist, dabei aber nicht flattert und zu viel in sich arbeitet. Ich möchte mich nicht von meinem Kite im Fahrstil limitieren lassen, was mit einem lahmen und trägen Kite vorkommen könnte. Auch beim Hydrofoil ist ein agiler Kite aus meiner Sicht klar von Vorteil, da ich so viel schneller reagieren kann, denn beim Foilen hat man oft nur sehr wenig Spannung auf den Leinen und da ist ein träger Kite nur hinderlich. Der Nerio ist deswegen vom Shape, von der Konstruktion und von der Aufhängung gleich vom ersten Prototypen an auf diese Eigenschaft hin entwickelt worden. 

FEATURES

"Das primäre Ziel bei der Entwicklung des Nerio war möglichst früh mit einem Tubekite kiten zu können und nicht das Gefühl zu haben einen großen Kite an der Bar zu haben. Der 13er Nerio hat die Power eines herkömmlichen 16ers"

Shape

Den Nerio habe ich von seiner Ausrichtung genau auf den Einsatzbereich Hydrofoil und Twintip im unteren Windbereich hin entworfen. Man erkennt das gut an seiner gestreckten Form und der Pfeilung nach hinten. Diese hohe Streckung ermöglicht die hohe Leistung beim Angleiten und Höhelaufen. Durch ein leistungsstarkes  Profil und eine schlanke Fronttube steht der Kite selbst bei sehr wenig Wind stabil am Windfensterrand. Die einzelnen Details wie das Profil, der Twist und auch die Vorspannung ergeben allerdings erst dann einen guten Kite, wenn der gesamte Shape aufeinander abgestimmt ist.

Nerio-Kite-Only_8.jpeg

Profil

Ein Kite, der agil, zugstark und zugleich selbst im oberen Windbereich ein Easy-Handling haben soll, muss ein sauber angeströmtes Profil haben. Da beim Nerio der Einsatzbereich klar definiert ist, kam für mich genau wie beim Maverick II nur ein Profil in Frage, wo die Strömung sofort nach dem Depowern wieder sauber anliegt. Dies erzeugt einen homogenen Zug an der Bar und nicht das unangenehme ON/OFF-Verhalten, was mir bei vielen Kites viel zu ruckartig ist.

Speziell auf den unteren Windbereich optimiert hat der Nerio ein Profil für guten Grundzug und bietet dennoch im oberen Windbereich viel Spielraum. Die Abstimmung des Profils beim Nerio war daher schon recht aufwändig. Profitiert habe ich dabei aus den Erfahrungen vom Maverick I & II, sowie aus meiner langjährigen Arbeit als Kite-Designer.

Wingtips

Jeder Kite braucht an den Flügelenden ein Leitwerk. Damit stabilisiert er sich und an dieser Position wird im Kite maßgeblich fixiert, wie sich sein Flugverhalten in ganz engen Turns und am äußersten Rand im Windfenster verhält. Leider wird hier viel zu oft Leistung und Handling verschenkt. In der Prototypenphase des Nerio habe ich daher sehr intensiv Wingtips mit geraden und runden Outlines ausprobiert. Die Version, welche jetzt final im Serienkite zum Einsatz kommt, ist eine gute Mischung aus Leistung, Bargefühl und einfachem Relaunch-Verhalten. Man weiß auch ohne Hinschauen immer wo sich der Kite im Windfenster befindet. Für den Einsatz auf dem Hydrofoil ein sehr wichtiger Aspekt gerade im untersten Windbereich.

Nerio-Wingtip_1.jpeg

Struts 1plus2

Meine Kites sollen immer leicht sein, sogar sehr leicht. No-Strutter sind sehr leicht, haben aber zumeist einen viel zu kleinen nutzbaren Windbereich. Unten herum funktionieren sie sehr gut, aber sobald der Wind auffrischt, muss man den Kite wechseln, weil das Handling dann desaströs wird. Single-Strutter können das schon besser, aber mir fehlt selbst dabei die Unterstützung des Profils am Flügelende, wenn man den Kite in sehr enge Turns zwingt. Einen klassischen Drei-Strutter zu entwickeln, hätte mich hingegen auch beim Nerio wieder vom Ziel entfernt, einen sehr leichten Kite zu entwickeln. Daher habe ich die beiden äußeren Struts zu Micro-Struts mit extrem dünnem Durchmesser verändert und nenne dies 1 plus 2. Dieses Design ist fast so leicht wie ein Single-Strutter, jedoch dreht der Kite viel harmonischer und im oberen Windbereich fliegt er viel ruhiger, weil das Profil besser stabilisiert wird. Das Konzept funktioniert beim Nerio genau so effektiv, wie beim Maverick.

Twist

Die Flugweise von Vögeln hat mich schon immer fasziniert, insbesondere deren Wendigkeit. Sie erreichen das durch ein komplettes Verdrehen (Twist) ihrer Flügel. Kein Vogel hat starre Flügel, so wie ein Flugzeug. Jeder Flugzeug-Konstrukteur würde davon träumen, wenn er eine Flächenverwindung stabil und leicht realisieren könnte, anstatt nur auf Klappen am Flügelende limitiert zu sein. Ein Kite mit steifer Fronttube gleicht fast einem starren Flügel. So ein Kite kann vom Kiter nicht wirklich in seinem Flug- und Drehverhalten beeinflusst werden, da hierbei zumeist die Lenkbefehle nur am Flügelende angreifen. Der Nerio kann dagegen im Ganzen twisten, weil er eine insgesamt recht dünne Fronttube hat. Er dreht deswegen deutlich enger und viel wichtiger ist noch, dass dabei die Strömung am Kite aufgrund der Flächenverwindung dauerhaft anliegt. Dies merkt man sofort, weil der Zug an der Bar auch bei richtig engen Turns konstant bleibt. Für mich ist das auf dem Foil eine unverzichtbare Eigenschaft. 

Bridle

Um die insgesamt recht dünne Fronttube beim Nerio zu stabilisieren, ist eine sehr präzise Aufhängung am Kite notwendig. Ich habe an lediglich einer Position eine Rolle eingesetzt und zwar genau dort, wo sich die Bridle bewegen muss, um einen sehr guten Depower-Effekt zu erzielen und den Depower-Weg an der Bar möglichst kurz zu halten. Schiebt man die Bar ganz vom Körper weg, ist der Kite völlig drucklos, was mir immer ein sehr sicheres Gefühl gibt. Die restlichen Punkte sind fix, um ein sehr direktes Barfeeling zu erzeugen und den Relaunch selbst bei sehr wenig Wind zu ermöglichen. Da der Nerio sehr gestreckt ist, habe ich einen zusätzlichen Punkt hinzugefügt, damit die Fronttube auch im oberen Windbereich gut stabilisiert wird. Auch bei der Bridle kommen die leichten Flugleinen zum Einsatz, anstatt dicker und schwerer Bridle-Leinen. Das erzeugt weniger Luft-widerstand und trägt auch zum geringen Gewicht des Kites bei.

Konstruktion

Die Vorgabe einen leichten Kite für den Einsatz auf dem Foil zu bauen, welcher zeitgleich stabil genug für den Einsatz auf dem Twintip ist, verlangt ein Umdenken in der Konstruktion. Für mich war dabei jedoch von Anfang an klar, dass ich keine Raketentechnik mit Hokus-Pokus Materialien einsetzen werde, wo der Kiter als Kunde den Endtest durchführen soll. Bei meinem Kite setze ich deswegen das äußerst robuste Ripstop der Firma Contender ein, welches hervorragende Werte in der Dehnung und Reißfestigkeit besitzt. Es ist ausreichend leicht, aber richtig stabil. Von der gleichen Firma kommt auch das Dacron für die Fronttube und die Struts. Beide Tücher werden in Deutschland bzw. der Schweiz gewebt und veredelt. Ein One-Pump-System und ein großes Ein/Aus-Ventil sind heute Standard. Aber weswegen ist der Nerio Kite nun so leicht? 

Nerio-Kite-Only_9.jpeg

Kite-Bag

Ein leichter Kite benötigt ein leichtes Kite-Bag. Deshalb habe ich mich beim Nerio für das gleiche Bag entschieden, wie beim Maverick. Mit nur 135 gr ist dieses Bag wirklich leicht und eignet sich somit besonders gut für die Reise. Es ist schlicht, funktional und dennoch robust. Keine überflüssigen Details und nur der Blick auf das Wesentliche. Ein Bag so wie ich es mir immer schon gewünscht habe. Die beiden seitlichen Leinen verschließen durch Zug die Öffnung oben am Bag und dienen gleichzeitig als Schulterriemen. Weil der Nerio und das Bag so leicht sind, ist hier keine Polsterung nötig.

DNA

"Es gibt viele Kites, die einen guten Grundzug haben, aber mein neuer Kite muss insbesondere auch sehr gut in den Turns sein, damit er mir viel Spaß auf dem Hydrofoil und dem Twintip bereiten kann."

Hydrofoil

Damit mir ein Kite auf dem Hydrofoil richtig Spaß macht, muss er nicht nur leicht sein, gut relaunchen und eine gute Performance besitzen, sondern auch einen besonders großen Windbereich abdecken. Außerdem erwarte ich ein sehr kalkulierbares Barfeeling. Fährt man z.B. beim Halsen mit dem Hydrofoil auf den Kite zu, hat man aufgrund des kaum vorhandenen Widerstands, zumeist nur noch sehr geringen Zug auf den Flugleinen. Dann merkt man sehr schnell, wie gut ein Kite für diesen Einsatzbereich abgestimmt ist. Der Nerio ermöglich mir in Windbereiche vorzustoßen, welche sonst nur für Foilkites (Matten) vorbehalten waren. Außerdem hat er durch seine hohe Streckung überragende Höhelauf-Eigenschaften, was gerade mit dem Foil besonders viel Spaß bereitet.

Twintip

Mit dem sehr leichten und agilen Nerio macht mir das Twintip-Cruisen im unteren Windbereich deutlich mehr Spaß, als mit den großen Kites früherer Jahre. Mit meinen 77 kg kann ich mit einem 145x46cm Twintip bereits bei 7-8 kn Wind  mit dem 13er Nerio raus. Bei so wenig Wind muss mein LW-Kite für Jumps auf dem Twintip gut tragen, sich schnell nach hinten lenken lassen und darf dabei nicht zu viel Querzug erzeugen, damit ich den maximalen Zug nach oben generieren kann. Leider stehen viele Kites, die gut tragen, viel zu tief im Windfenster und haben deswegen Defizite beim Absprung. Die hohe Fluggeschwindigkeit vom Nerio erzeugt schon sehr früh den gewünschten Lift. Beim Barfeeling mag ich es gerne direkt, aber ohne hohen Kraftaufwand. Es muss sich leicht und spielerisch anfühlen, damit ich mich voll auf den Absprung konzentrieren kann. Ich möchte nicht ständig zum Kite hochschauen müssen, um mich zu vergewissern, wohin er gerade fliegt, oder schon einen Backstall hat. Dieses direkte Barfeeling schätze ich beim Nerio besonders bei sehr böigen Bedingungen.

Relaunch

Ein Kite, der schlecht relauncht, ist beim Foilen definitiv eine Spaßbremse und an Tagen mit besonders wenig Wind freut man sich, wenn schon eine kleine Brise ausreicht, um den Kite wieder in den Himmel zu bekommen. Der Nerio startet direkt und tief im Windfenster, ohne dabei lästig lange bis an den Windfensterrand wandern zu müssen. Das Video links wurde bei etwa 6 - 7 kn Wind aufgenommen. Man kann da gut die Relaunch-Technik erkennen. Die schmalen Wingtips und auch die in diesem Bereich etwas dickere Fronttube, sowie die äußeren Struts ermöglichen es dem Kite sich schnell und leicht vom Wasser zu lösen. Dazu reicht es nur eine Steuerleine zu betätigen. Die spezielle Bridle unterstützt dies durch die fixen Punkte und erzeugt zusammen mit den Wingtips genügend Lift, damit sich der Kite so dreht, wie man sich das wünscht. Der Rückwärtsstart durch Zug an beiden Steuerleinen funktioniert mit dem Nerio ebenfalls.

MOMENTE

Welche Vorteile hat der Nerio?

NERIO-Preise.png

Alle Preise inkl. Mehrwertsteuer zzgl. Versandkosten.

Entsprechend der ab 01.07.2021 in der EU geltenden Fernverkaufsregelung für grenzüberschreitende Warenlieferungen an Privatpersonen

wird der Mehrwertsteuersatz des Ziellands berechnet.